Support Center

Backup Retention Settings

To change how long CodeGuard stores your backups and to delete old backups from your account navigate to your Account Settings page and edit your Backup Retention settings. There are multiple options to choose from when it comes to Backup Retention; you can choose to either keep 90 days of backup history for all of your websites and databases, keep 60 days, 30 days, 14 days, or 7 days of history or keep all of your backup history for all of your websites and databases since they were added to CodeGuard.



As of June 2014, most new accounts added to CodeGuard have "90 days of backup retention" as their default setting. Plans not purchased directly through CodeGuard and our free plan may have different default retention settings, please refer to this support article to see what your current setting is. We recommend having some sort of retention setting applied to your backups (7 days, 14 days, 30 days, 60 days, or 90 days) as it will help save space in your account! CodeGuard will periodically remove the backups older than your retention period setting. In the event that your account goes over quota, CodeGuard will try to automatically delete old backups from your account if your Backup Retention setting is set to one of these options. If you go over quota and would like to keep your entire backup history then you will need to upgrade your account for more storage space.

If old backups are removed from your account and you are still over your quota, you will need to upgrade to a plan with more storage space, or delete a website or database from your account to remain under your quota.

For more information on your account settings, please take a look at this 
video tutorial.